Welcome to the Napier Port Hawke's Bay Primary Sector Awards

Hawke's Bay has a proud history as a primary sector engine house from its rugged hinterland to the rich productive plains of the lowlands. We have seen innovative producers harness these resources to place the region as one of the most significant food producing regions of New Zealand.
However, it is not enough anymore to follow the production mantra of more, more, more. Increasingly we are needing to walk a path that shows our primary sector industries are careful stewards of the resources that their future generations have entrusted to them. That we have businesses and leaders that recognise that sustainability coupled with a compelling story of place will be the hallmarks of success for our primary industries on the world stage.
It is appropriate then that we have an event that recognises those that have risen to these challenges and built some of the leading primary sector business in New Zealand.
The Hawke's Bay A&P Society is delighted to bring to you the Napier Port Hawke's Bay Primary Sector Awards; a stage on which we celebrate the leading primary sector businesses and their people. 
Sharing a vision for the future of the regions primary industries is our naming sponsor Napier Port- reflecting the Ports deep and important connection with the regions primary industries.
The Napier Port Hawke's Bay Primary Sector Awards will bring together a range of awards and competitions that will recognise excellence in the primary industries.
So join us for this journey; whether you are an aspiring contestant, sponsor or interested party as we celebrate those that drive our regional economy and enable us to confidently take our place as a safe and sustainable food producer for the rest of the world.  
Simon FH Collin (President)




Below are the seven awards that make up the Napier Port Hawke's Bay Primary Sector Awards:





More than just sponsors, these companies have chosen to support the Napier Port Hawke's Bay Primary Sector Awards because they believe they have a role to play in its continued success.  Take time to explore what our sponsors have to offer.  If you are interested in becoming a sponsor please contact us

Naming Sponsor


silver fern farms Hawke's Bay farmer of the year  

Naming Sponsor

associated sponsors





Pan Pac HB Farm Forester of the Year

Naming Sponsor

Associated sponsors

Lawson robinson hb a&p scholarship 


bwr HB PRIMARY SECTOR innovation award


2018 Entry Form - Entries close 28 February 2018
The primary objectives of the 
Silver Fern Farms Hawke's Bay Farmer of the Year competition are to identify, promote and celebrate excellence in pastoral farming in Hawke's Bay.

2017 Recipients

Paul & Marie Renton

Past Winners


2018 Entry Form - Entries close 28 February 2018

2017 Recipient

Greg & Rachel Hart 
Mangarara Station

Field Day Booklet  Farm IMages 
Past Winners


2018 Nomination Form - Entries close 28 February 2018
This award recognises an Outstanding Contribution to Agriculture in Hawke's Bay by awarding to a person who largely goes unrecognised and who works or gives of their time voluntarily to the betterment of Agriculture in Hawke's Bay.
  This is in keeping with the ideals of the late Laurie Dowling who was very much a man of the land throughout his consultancy career.
[youtube LOIAiISxtls]

2017 Recipient

Hawke's Bay Rescue Helicopter Trust

Past Winners


2018 Entry Detail - Entries close 28 February 2018
This scholarship aims to recognise outstanding academic and leadership qualities in a student currently enrolled in a full time land based production industries programme at a New Zealand University.

2017 Recipient

Amy Hoogenboom

Past Winners
2016 Olivia Ellis
2015 Kahlia Fryer
2014 Patrick Crawshaw
2013 Rowan Stanford


2018 Entry Form - Entries close 28 February 2018
The Hawke’s Bay Primary Sector Industry Leader of the Year Award for outstanding leadership achievement.

2017 Recipient

John Paynter

Past Winners
2016 Craig Hickson
2015 Justine Kidd


2018 Entry Form - Entries close on the 28 February 2018
This award recognises an individual providing professional services to the Primary Sector in Hawke's Bay.

2017 Recipient

Dr Ian Walker

Past Winners
2016 Phil Tither


Nomination Form
The Hawke's Bay Primary Sector Innovation Award will recognise outstanding innovation within the Hawke's Bay region.  The purpose of this award is to identify, acknowledge and celebrate those in Hawke's Bay who have made a significant contribution through their knowledge, skills and application to improve the performance of the primary industries.
This award is open to Primary Sector of all kinds.  It includes software, products, services and any innovation targeted towards the primary sectors.  It celebrates innovation in farming, fisheries, horticulture, viticulture, forestry, applied agriculture research including the companies that service these sectors.  Innovation in this category may also overlap and connect with innovation in food & beverage and health & science.


Napier Port Hawke's Bay Primary Sector Awards Dinner

The Awards Dinner will be held on Thursday 12 April 2018 - Tickets on Sale February 2018

The Hawke's Bay A&P Society invites you to join with them to celebrate a year of excellence in the primary sector as we announce the winners of;
Silver Fern Farms Hawke's Bay Farmer of the Year
Pan Pac Hawke's Bay Farm Forester of the Year
Laurie Dowling Memorial Award
Lawson Robinson Hawke's Bay A&P Scholarship
Hastings District Council Hawke's Bay Primary Sector Industry Leader
Bayleys Hawke's Bay Primary Sector Professional of the Year

Date:   12 April 2018
Time:  6pm
Venue:  Event Centre, ShowgroundsHawke's Bay
Dress:  Smart Business Attire
Tickets:  $150.00 (plus GST) includes all beverages, 3 course meal and canapes
Pre Dinner drinks 5.30pm - 6.15pm.  Awards Ceremony commences 6.30pm

RSVP  to Hillary Riches by TBC
P: 06 8783123 Ext 705  M: 027 2588784  E: 



Contact Details

Hawke's Bay A&P Society
Showgrounds Hawke's Bay
Kenilworth Road
PO Box 349
Phone 06 878 3123
Fax 06 878 3121

Hillary Riches, Business Development Manager

Phone  06 878 3123  Extn 705


Back to menu

key dates

Awards Dinner
12 April 2018