The primary objectives of the Silver Fern Farms Hawke’s Bay Farmer of the Year competition are to identify, promote and celebrate excellence in pastoral farming in Hawke’s Bay. In doing so we endorse the contribution of pastoral farming to the economic cultural and social well being of Hawke’s Bay. 

For over forty years the Hawke’s Bay A&P Society has championed this competition and it is seen as the premier farming event on the Hawke’s Bay Calendar. 
2017 Winners
Paul & Marie Renton - Glenmore
1040 Aorangi Road, Mangatahi, RD1, Hastings 



More than just sponsors, these companies have chosen to support the Silver Fern Farms Hawke's Bay Farmer of the Year because they believe they have a role to play in its continued success.  Take time to explore what our sponsors have to offer.
If you are interested in becoming a sponsor please contact us.

Naming Sponsor

Foundation Sponsors


Associate Sponsors



Advisor Sponsors



Entry Detail

Entries for the 2018 Competition that celebrates excellence in pastoral farming in Hawke’s Bay will be accepted from 19 October 2017.

Entry Form     Entries close 28 February 2018

This regionally significant competition seeks to identify those operators, be they managers or owners, that maximise the potential of the property they farm in an efficient and sustainable manner. Past entrants comment “entering the competition has helped us think strategically about our business and the opportunity to benchmark ourselves alongside our peers has been a valuable experience”. The judging process is conducted by an independent panel of industry participants that understand the practicalities of the modern farming business. Past winners have gone on to become industry leaders, mentors and spokespeople for the pastoral farming community.

Accept the challenge and the opportunity this award presents and talk to your trusted advisors about entering the 2018 Hawke’s Bay Farmer of the Year competition.

The winner will receive: 

• Recognition of being the Silver Fern Farms Hawke’s Bay Farmer of the Year

• A prize pool to the value of over $30,000

• The E.B.Hindmarsh Trophy Donated by The Wife of the Late E B Hindmarsh

• A Silver Salver Donated by Friends of the Late E B Hindmarsh

  • Conditions of Entry


    • The competition is open to any agricultural and pastoral farm owner, manager or leasee in the areas covered by the Wairoa District south of the Mohaka River, the Napier City Council, and the Hastings and Waipukurau District Councils.
    • Judging is based on Profitability; Management Skills; Care; Appearance and Performance of land, crops, pastures and stock.
    • Supply copies of Annual Accounts (Farm Working, Livestock and Depreciation accounts) for the financial years ending 2015/2016 and 2016/2017.
    • Entrants must be pursuing a system of agriculture and/or pastoral farming which will maintain high and sustainable performance over a long term. The farm holding must be a full-time commercial operation for at least one person.
    • With the winners co-operation an open field day, will be held on the winner’s farm.


Judges for 2018 Competition

Mr Geordie McCallum - Masterton
Mr Neil Aicken - Waikato




Napier Port Hawke's Bay Primary Sector Awards Dinner

12 April 2018        Tickets on Sale 1 February 2018

The Hawke's Bay A&P Society invites you to join with them to celebrate a year of excellence in the primary sector as we announce the winners of;

Silver Fern Farms Hawke's Bay Farmer of the Year
Pan Pac Hawke's Bay Farm Forester of the Year
Laurie Dowling Memorial Award
Lawson Robinson Hawke's Bay A&P Scholarship
Hastings District Council Hawke's Bay Primary Sector Industry Leader
Bayleys Hawke's Bay Primary Sector Professional of the Year

Date:   12 April 2018
Time:  6pm
Venue:  Event Centre, ShowgroundsHawke's Bay
Dress:  Smart Business Attire
Tickets:  $150.00 (plus GST) includes all beverages, 3 course meal and canapes
Pre Dinner drinks 6.00pm - 7.00pm.  Awards Ceremony commences 7.15pm

Contact:  Hillary Riches 
P: 06 8783123 Ext 705  M: 027 2588784  E: 


2017 Silver Fern Farms Hawke's Bay Farmer of the Year Winners are

2017 Winners

Paul & Marie Renton - Glenmore
1040 Aorangi Road, Mangatahi, RD1, Hastings 


  • Past winners

    2017 P & M Renton
    2016  G & S Charteris
    2015 C & T Sinclair
    2014  H & S Ritchie

    2013  D & R Angland   
    2012  M & G Barham 
    2011  T & A Clouston 
    2010  T Aitken & L Robertshawe
    2009  C & S Read-Jones 
    2008  A & K Arnold
    2007  M & H Toulmin    
    2006  C & H Hardy
    2005  T & J Walters 
    2004  P & J Cregoe    
    2003  S & S, D & C von Dadelszen
    2002  M Hindmarsh  
    2001  M & R Petersen     
    2000  D & P Stewart  
    1999  N & G White 
    1998  P E & P Tod      
    1997  C & D Dooney         
    1996  T & S Haslett             
    1995  P I R & D M Mackie   
    1994  S Wyn-Harris 
    1993  W B Hall  
    1992  M A T Warren  
    1991  C J King  
    1990  D W Ritchie       
    1989  D O Macdonald      
    1988  G N Fountaine                 
    1986  S A Robinson 
    1985  B M Worsnop                         
    1984  T J Atchison                          
    1983  J W Paterson    
    1981  N T Kittow             
    1980  W R Whittle                           
    1979  F A von Dadelszen                    
    1978  D V Bryant        
    1977  P G King 
    1976  R G Yule
    1975  R M Shine          
    1974  F B Tombleson                      
    1973  E P Wilson    
    1972  G F Sainsbury   


Contact Details

Hawke's Bay A&P Society
Showgrounds Hawke's Bay
Kenilworth Road
PO Box 349
Phone 06 878 3123
Fax 06 878 3121

Hillary Riches, Business Development Manager

Phone  06 878 3123  Extn 705


Back to menu